Isaël Gadoua

Restaurant LUMAMI

Chef of LUMAMI Restaurant

Biography

A Chef, Taking Nature to Heart

LUMAMI, cuisine nature’s executive chef, Isaël Gadoua, offers you a menu totally in his image, hearty, straightforward, authentic and deeply rooted in the nature of our Eastern Townships. After occupying the position of sous chef at BALNEA for almost a year, he is now at the helm of the kitchen offering his vision of LUMAMI through his creativity and his great spirit.

Isaël has always felt passionate about good food. However, he felt his true epicurean calling after several culinary experiences, notably when he could use the vegetables he found in his mother’s enormous garden when he visited her in La Patrie, in the Eastern Townships. The satisfaction he felt as he pulled a fresh carrot from the ground, the delicious, juicy, fresh tomatoes… It was clear that from then on, he would find his destiny in the kitchen. He completed his studies at the ITHQ with great enthusiasm. Then, after he interned at the Maison Boulud, he started at Joe Beef. These were three determining years for him. “It was really the best of schools for me! I learned a lot about restaurant service, ethics and hospitality,” he says.

His arrival at BALNEA coincides with his wish to reconnect with the region while taking up the challenges of rural cuisine, among them, finding exotic yet accessible products. His mission? To offer dishes valorizing products developed or transformed locally, but also to create a constantly evolving menu, adapted to our nordicity, using our farmers and produce growers’ ingredients and what nature offers us. At 35, Isaël has plenty of imagination and a lot of ambition for LUMAMI.

The refined flavours we discover on his menu are inspired by the terroir, and the pace of life here. Vegetables are what he loves to prepare more than anything else. “The endless selection, all the possibilities, mixing and matching them, the taste levels…” he says, clearly thrilled! With his magnificent herb garden close at hand, he adds a personal final touch to his creations with aromas of thyme, sage, Vietnamese basil or perhaps curry leaves.
Under the skillful direction of our chef, LUMAMI’s nature cuisine, is more than ever, a must for all our BALNEA spa & réserve thermale visitors.

I would like to receive balnea's newsletter.

Sign up
X

Isaël Gadoua

Restaurant LUMAMI

Chef exécutif du restaurant LUMAMI

Biographie

Un Chef, façon nature

Le chef exécutif de LUMAMI cuisine nature, Isaël Gadoua, vous présente un menu à l’image de sa personne, accueillant, franc, authentique et profondément ancré dans la nature des Cantons-de-l’Est. Après avoir occupé le poste de sous-chef au BALNEA pendant près d’un an, il prend aujourd’hui les guides de la cuisine avec toute sa créativité et sa fougue pour offrir sa vision du LUMAMI.

Isaël a toujours été un passionné de bonne bouffe. Il a cependant vraiment senti l’appel épicurien suite à plusieurs expériences culinaires, notamment, à partir des produits de l’énorme potager de sa mère, qu’il alla visiter à La Patrie, en Estrie. La satisfaction qu’il ressentait en créant des plats avec des carottes tout juste sorties de terre, les délicieuses tomates fraîches et juteuses… Désormais, son destin se trouvera dans la cuisine ! Il termine donc avec enthousiasme ses études à l’ITHQ. Puis, après avoir complété un stage à la Maison Boulud, il entre chez Joe Beef. Les trois années qu’il y travailla furent déterminantes ; c’était « la meilleure école. Là, j’ai appris beaucoup sur la restauration, l’éthique et l’hospitalité ».

Son arrivée au LUMAMI coïncide avec son désir de renouer avec la région tout en relevant les défis de la cuisine en milieu rural, dont la recherche d’ingrédients inusités et accessibles. Sa mission ? Créer des plats valorisant les produits développés ou transformés localement, mais aussi, construire une carte en constante évolution, adaptée à notre nordicité, selon l’offre des maraîchers, des éleveurs et la nature. À 35 ans, Isaël ne manque pas d’imagination ni d’ambition pour le restaurant LUMAMI.

Les saveurs épurées qu’on découvre sur son menu sont donc élaborées à partir du terroir, inspirées par le rythme de la vie d’ici. Les légumes sont ce qu’il préfère cuisiner ; « L’énorme choix, toutes les possibilités qu’ils offrent, les agencements, les niveaux de goût… » dit-il, clairement emballé ! Avec un magnifique jardin de fines herbes à la portée de main, il ajoute à ses plats une touche finale bien personnelle aux arômes de thym, de sauge, de basilic vietnamien ou encore de feuilles de carie.
Sous l’habile direction de notre chef, la cuisine nature du LUMAMI est plus que jamais un incontournable pour les visiteurs du BALNEA spa et réserve thermale.

J'aimerais recevoir l'infolettre balnea.

S'inscrire
X