Luc Pinard

Restaurant LUMAMI

Chef of LUMAMI Restaurant

Biography

LUC PINARD at LUMAMI

Veal Ballotine, Jerusalem artichokes, Labrador tea and half-glazed roasted deer, Luc Pinard, LUMAMI’s new executive chef, tickles our fancy with a menu that will satisfy even the most demanding foodies. This 34-year-old rather strapping fellow recounts his story, without any artifice while revealing his passion for the art of fine cuisine.

He begins by paying a special tribute to his two grandmothers, to whom he attributes his career pathway. As a young boy, he would spend his summers either sitting at one grand mom’s catering service counter, surrounded by the aromas of freshly baked pies, or in the middle of the other’s vegetable garden, mesmerized by the beauty of the terroir.

He started washing dishes at the age of 13 at the restaurant where his mother worked. Here he flipped his first burgers and learned a lot about the workings of fast food establishments. Since then, although he studied cinema a couple of years and loves playing the drums, he’s always kept, as he puts it, his “day job.”

His career high points begin to unfold at Holder’s, in Old Montreal, where he met chef Simon Laplanete who will become his most important mentor. This iconic French chef taught him the fundaments, the language and the motions that accompany the art of cooking. He was a true inspiration for Luc.

Then would follow, a first solo experience at La Grenouille, then a passage at Jurançon, on Saint-Zotique, where he learned the secrets of France’s South-Western cuisine! His time at Grain de Sel, with chef Jean-François Bonin, taught him the basics behind charcuterie preparations and how to integrate exotic spices! Later his thirst for learning would take him all the way to Newfoundland, to the highly reputed restaurant Raymond’s, in Saint-John’s. There, under the supervision of chefs Jeremy Charles and Ross Larkin, he would discover the Nordic regions’ amazing marine terroir.

When he landed a position at Vice et Versa, he met with master brewer Sébastien Gagnon, known for his famous Brasserie Dunham beers. He offered Luc the challenge of setting up his new restaurant La table fermière. His mission? To create a menu that would showcase local products. This is how he was introduced to the Brome-Missisquoi region, the wealth of its agriculture, the passion of the area’s producers. Inspired by all this energy, he finally decided to settle here as well.

His vision for LUMAMI? He wants to merge all the skills he’s acquired over his atypical path and define an authentic signature cuisine for LUMAMI. He hopes to establish a symbiosis linking his menu to the terroir and the reserve. His mission? To become the perfect complement to the wellness experience offered by BALNEA.

I would like to receive balnea's newsletter.

Sign up
X

L'expérience thermale est à nouveau disponible.

Luc Pinard

Restaurant LUMAMI

Chef exécutif du restaurant LUMAMI

Biographie

LUC PINARD au LUMAMI

Ballotine de veau, topinambour, demi-glace de cerf au thé du Labrador, Luc Pinard, nouveau chef exécutif au LUMAMI, nous chatouille l’imaginaire avec son menu qui excitera les papilles gustatives les plus capricieuses ! Ce grand gaillard de 34 ans, au style un peu old school, nous défile l’histoire de son parcours sans prétention, dévoilant sa passion pour les arts de la cuisine.

Il tient d’abord à rendre hommage à ses deux grands-mères à qui il attribue son cheminement. Jeune, il passait ses étés auprès de celle qui l’assoyait à son comptoir de service de traiteur, entouré des arômes de ses merveilleuses tartes ; puis, chez l’autre, assis au milieu de son potager sans fin, totalement séduit par la beauté du terroir.

Dès l’âge de 13 ans, il plongeait au restaurant où travaillait sa mère. Il y a d’ailleurs « flippé » ses premiers « burgers », en plus d’y avoir appris les rouages de la restauration rapide. Depuis, malgré quelques années d’études en cinéma, et son amour pour la batterie (non pas de cuisine, mais à percussion), il a cependant, gardé cet emploi de jour.

Les moments forts de sa carrière se déclinent d’abord chez Holder, dans le Vieux-Montréal, où il rencontre le chef Simon Laplante qu’il affirme être son plus généreux mentor. Ce grand de la cuisine française lui montra les fondements, le langage et la gestuelle qui accompagne l’art de la bonne table. Il fut une réelle inspiration pour Luc.

Suivront une première aventure solo au bistro de quartier, La Grenouille, puis un passage au Jurançon, sur Saint-Zotique, où il découvre les secrets de la cuisine du sud-ouest de la France ! Son séjour au Grain de Sel, auprès du chef Jean-François Bonin lui fait découvrir les bases de la charcuterie et des épices  plus exotiques ! Plus tard, sa recherche de nouvelles saveurs et techniques le conduira jusqu’à Terre-Neuve, au restaurant Raymond’s à Saint John’s. Dirigé par les grands chefs Jeremy Charles et Ross Larkin, il découvre le fascinant terroir marin des régions nordiques !

C’est chez Vice et Versa qu’il rencontre le maître brasseur Sébastien Gagnon, créateur des fameuses bières de la Brasserie Dunham. Ce dernier le sollicite pour établir son nouveau restaurant La table fermière. Sa mission ? Créer un menu mettant en valeur le terroir local. En plus de créer des liens privilégiés avec des producteurs passionnés, il découvre la région de Brome-Missisquoi et la richesse de son agriculture. Inspiré par toute cette énergie, il décide de s’établir ici.

Sa vision pour LUMAMI ? Il veut amalgamer toutes les connaissances acquises durant son parcours atypique pour définir une cuisine signature, authentique à LUMAMI. Il souhaite créer un menu en symbiose avec le terroir et la nature même de la réserve. Sa mission ? D’être le parfait complément au projet de bien-être qu’offre BALNEA.

 

J'aimerais recevoir l'infolettre balnea.

S'inscrire
X