Balnea’s green earth

About
 

Balnea’s green future

The Domaine naturel du Lac Gale’s history dates back to the passage of the Abenaki tribes. BALNEA spa + réserve thermale, being a sustainable enterprise, is committed to set forth all the necessary actions in order to ensure its sustainability for the well-being of the planet as well as for future generations.

Our nature

Since 2004, BALNEA has always worked to ensure the sustainability of the enterprise through the preservation of this ancestral territory, while sharing its wealth and benefits. Having handed over 80% of its land to Nature Conservancy Canada in 2005, BALNEA, since then, encourages the protection of its natural surroundings. Its mission to conserve this environment for future generations is inspired by the values of its ancestral occupants, deeply attached to the earth.


The joy of water

Water is the spa’s primary resource. At BALNEA, we do everything to protect it while having our guests benefit from its purity, its freshness and all the joy it procures.


Our equipment

Always at the cutting edge of water conservation innovative actions, over the years, BALNEA has improved its equipment and has adopted the best practices for optimal control of its water consumption. By doing so the spa has considerably reduced wasting its primary resource.


Our guest facilities

Always keeping in mind an efficient use of water in its sanitary facilities, BALNEA has opted for water aerators for its showerheads with the effect of saving up to 80% of our water consumption. Furthermore, our WaterSense certified ultra-high efficiency 1 sanitaries allowed water savings of 50%. These and many other simple actions have permitted us to reduce our water consumption without causing any discomfort to the spa adepts. Sustainable choices such as purchasing high efficiency kitchen appliances have also brought about substantial savings.


Water bottles

Since 2010, BALNEA has been offering its guests water bottles with which they can enjoy the spa’s fresh spring water and refill them in different locations throughout the site. The bottles are made with aluminum, keeping the water fresher, plus they are reusable. This initiative has allowed us to save almost 100,000 recyclable plastic water bottles, eliminating a possible CO2 emission of 12.1 tons annually.


Energy efficiency

Always with the environment in mind, BALNEA has opted for a heating system using wood pellets, thus eliminating 450 tons of greenhouse gases!


Team awareness

BALNEA employees are highly aware and believe in our nature conservation mission. The entire staff always works to develop the most efficient work practices in order to reduce our ecological footprint.


As green as Balnea

BALNEA works hard to establish an ethical sourcing for all its purchases. Therefore, we offer local suppliers and artisans a window for their terroir products. Furthermore, the menus of our restaurant service follow the seasons and overflow with local flavours.


Health found in Balnea's nature

Inspired by the nourishing earth, BALNEA invites its guests to become part of nature and respectfully receive all its benefits. A network covering more than 20 km of trails, welcomes visitors inside a natural environment with an abundance of the most spectacular flora.


I would like to receive balnea's newsletter.

Sign up
X

Engagement vert

À propos
 

Balnea voit l’avenir en vert

Le Domaine naturel du lac Gale a une histoire qui date du passage des Abénaquis. BALNEA spa + réserve thermale s’engage en tant qu’entreprise durable à mettre en place toutes les actions nécessaires afin d’en assurer la pérennité pour le bien-être de la planète et pour les générations à venir.

Notre nature

Depuis 2004, BALNEA se donne des façons de faire pour aligner la durabilité de l’entreprise avec la préservation de ce territoire ancestral tout en partageant ses richesses et bienfaits. Ayant déjà légué 80 % de son territoire à Conservation Nature Canada en 2005, BALNEA encourage la protection des milieux naturels. Leur mission de conserver cet environnement pour les générations à venir est inspirée des valeurs de ses anciens occupants, profondément attachés à la terre.


Le bonheur de l'eau

L’eau est la ressource première du spa. BALNEA fait tout en son pouvoir pour la protéger tout en faisant bénéficier sa clientèle de la pureté et douceur de celle-ci et du bonheur qu’elle procure.


Nos équipements

Toujours à l’affût des nouveautés en lien avec la conservation de l’eau, au fil des années, les améliorations dans les équipements tout comme l’adoption des meilleures pratiques ont été mises de l’avant pour un contrôle en consommation d’eau optimal et par le fait même, une réduction considérable du gaspillage de notre ressource première.


Nos salles de services aux clients

Toujours par souci d’une utilisation d’eau efficace dans ses installations sanitaires et ses salles de douches, BALNEA a opté pour l’installation d’aérateurs économiseurs d’eau à haute efficacité dans les têtes de douches et les robinets permettant une économie d’eau de près de 80 %. De plus, nos sanitaires récemment certifiés WaterSense de type Ultra High Efficiency [1] permettent une économie d’eau de 50 %. Ces gestes pourtant simples ont permis de réduire notre consommation sans que les adeptes du spa en soient incommodés. Des choix d’achats durables tels que des appareils de cuisine à haute efficacité ont aussi permis des économies substantielles.


L'eau en bouteille

Depuis 2010, BALNEA offre à ses clients des bouteilles qu’ils peuvent remplir avec une bonne eau de source à différents endroits sur le site. Les bouteilles en aluminium gardent l’eau bien fraîche en plus d’être réutilisables. Cette initiative a permis d’éviter la distribution de près de 100 000 bouteilles d’eau en plastique recyclable, éliminant une émission possible de CO2 évalué à 12,1 tonnes annuellement.


Efficacité énergétique

Par souci pour l’environnement, BALNEA opte pour un système aux granules de bois, éliminant plus de 450 tonnes de gaz à effet de serre !


Une équipe sensibilisée

Les employés de BALNEA sont sensibilisés et croient en notre mission de conservation. Ils travaillent tous à développer des façons de faire efficaces pour réduire au maximum notre empreinte écologique.


Verts comme Balnea

BALNEA accorde une grande place à l’approvisionnement éthique en offrant une vitrine pour les produits de nos artisans du terroir. De plus, les menus de notre service de restauration suivent le fil des saisons et regorgent de saveurs locales.


De la nature à la santé, Balnea

Inspiré par la terre nourricière, BALNEA invite ses visiteurs à l’intégrer et en retirer respectueusement les bénéfices. Un réseau de plus de 20 km de sentiers vous accueille dans notre environnement naturel contenant une flore des plus spectaculaire.


J'aimerais recevoir l'infolettre balnea.

S'inscrire
X